June 21, 2018

Penalty For 3rd DUI

Penalty For 3rd DUI



Penalty For 3rd DUI Attorney Utah


"CLICK" To Call Our DUI Attorney


What Is The Penalty For 3rd DUI?

If you do not know for sure, or are curious and are asking around, what is the penalty for 3rd DUI...then look no further!

Are you facing a DUI? Otherwise known as, Driving Under the Influence.

​You thought you were ok. Just out with friends. Now, that you’ve got a DUI Utah is going to fully prosecute. You are afraid you will go to jail or lose your license. Maybe even lose your job!

You need the best DUI attorney Salt Lake City can offer, not just any DUI attorney you see advertised on local billboards and radios. This is a serious charge on several levels. Do you know anyone who has had to hire a Utah criminal defense attorney?

Do you know where to look? Here at Utah Law Aid we not only have criminal defense attorneys but a specific DUI criminal defense attorney. Our DUI attorney Salt Lake City Ut has been rated one of the best in the west!

Most lawyers criminal defense and civil, are trained in a broad overview of the law. Our Salt Lake City DUI lawyer focuses on nothing but those laws and they know them inside and out. A good criminal defense attorney or otherwise will let you know the answer to your question (what is the penalty for 3rd DUI?), as well as know his strengths and limitations. We have specialty lawyers in all areas of the law. We even have a criminal attorney lawyer who represents nothing but attorneys who may have gotten themselves in trouble!

For a DUI in Utah, not just any Salt Lake City criminal lawyer will do. Especially if you wanted to know what is the penalty for 3rd DUI? This charge will stay on your record and cannot be expunged for 10 years! There is the potential for up to 6 months in jail on your first offense. You will most likely have your license suspended for 6 months. You will have a large fine. Utah statute says you will take a Primed for Life class as well; which all costs time and money! So if you were wondering what is the penalty for 3rd DUI, the quick answer is that it varies. the best answer is that you do not want to find out!

Your defense will cost money. If you want that large amount of money lessened, and your charge potentially dropped down to a lesser and expungable charge, then you will need the best criminal lawyer Salt Lake City has. The prosecutor and court take a DUI charge very seriously.

When you get a DUI Salt Lake City will prosecute you to the fullest they can. Unless you are represented with a DUI attorney Utah recognizes as the best of the best. That’s us. We are here to help you. There are consequences to your actions but they should not ruin your life! That’s why you need good, solid legal representation.

We can work with the prosecutor and the court to make sure that the judgement, if warranted to begin with, is fair and just and serves a teaching moment not an arbitrary punishment! We want to make sure that if your DUI was for prescription medication that you are not railroaded into a plea deal that is unfair.

​There are tests for medications that can tell the levels on the medication in your system. There are therapeutic levels and there are levels of abuse. If you are within the therapeutic level, were pulled over for a routine traffic offense then we will make sure you are not prosecuted as a typical DUI case. The law is complicated so call Utah Law Aid to make it simple and easy for you!

It’s like being stuck in a nightmare you can’t awaken from. One minute you are having a good time, out with friends, having a couple of drinks. The next minute you are standing on the side of the road having a field sobriety test conducted on you. You are trying to balance on one leg and count or say the alphabet backwards. You are asked to blow into a machine that will decide whether you are going to jail or not.

All you can think about is “What if everyone finds out? What about my job? What about my marriage or parents!” How do I get out of jail? What happens next? Who do I call? Do I need an attorney? Don’t they have me “dead to rights”? what good would spending all that money on an attorney do?

The answer is Yes! You need an attorney! Even if you were driving under the influence, (and we here at Utah Law Aid in no way condone that in any way), this does not mean your whole live will be or should be ruined. We know good people do bad things and make bad choices sometimes. We will represent you in your DUI case so that your punishment fits your crime.

In Utah, .05 is the legal limit for drinking and driving. What if you were .04 and were pulled over for swerving or some other notably erratic driving. Can you be charged with a DUI? Is DUI a crime in this particular situation? It depends. If you are under 21 then yes because Utah has a “Not a drop” law for underage drivers. If you are over 21, then maybe. Again, it depends. It depends on how impaired you are when you are pulled over.

If you are so impaired as to be a threat to others, then yes, you can and will be charged with a DUI. However, our attorneys can make sure that you are sentenced on the right dui charge to begin with! There is a huge difference in an Impaired Driving or Reckless Driving charge than a DUI. The lesser charge of Impaired Driving will not revoke your license as long nor destroy your insurance rating. There is no room to leave any stone unturned if you were wanting to know what is the penalty for 3rd DUI??

It may be that this is a situation where you have taken a new medication and it was making your reactions slower than usual so that during a random checkpoint DUI stop you seemed to be failing the field sobriety tests. Should you be punished as if you were drinking all night?

​Sometimes medications cannot be predictable in how they react on certain people. We have had some people who, without any warning have had terrible reactions to medications while driving. Without an attorney in your corner, you may end up pleading to a charge that could impact your life dramatically instead of having a case dismissed!

​Call us at Utah Law Aid so we can make sure that your rights are just as protected as everyone else’s!


"CLICK" To Call Our DUI Attorney


Utah Law Aid penalty for 3rd DUI Answers

One really important question concerning drunk driving charges that you might be asking yourself; what is the penalty for 3rd DUI? The answer is…it truly varies. Normally it is an automatic felony! Depending on the state you live in, as well as the severity or amount of times you have been previously sentenced for drinking and driving all play a factor. The most surest way to find your answers as well as peace of mind, would obviously be to obtain the best DUI attorney possible. This can be a daunting challenge as there truly are a lot of different lawyers willing to take your money, however a great DUI lawyer is hard to come by. Some of the finer DUI checklists that you will want to look out for when evaluating the best DUI lawyer for your particular situation is as follows:

• Is your DUI attorney Utah based

• What is the penalty for 3rd DUI

• How many previous DUI cases has your lawyer been involved with

• How many cases has your lawyer won or lost

• Does your DUI lawyer know the difference between a DWI (impaired driving) and a DUI

• Is your attorney familiar with various drunk driving statistics to help with your case

• Does your legal representation specialize in DUI cases, or are they more of a criminal defense lawyer

• Does your DUI attorney help you because they believe you deserve help or are they after your finances

• Are you able to pay for services on a sliding scale fee

• Is charity available through a pro-bono basis

• Does your lawyer have empathy for what you are enduring

• Does your DUI Attorney behave non judgmentally and have your best interest in mind

• How often are you able to receive answers to your questions

• How confident is your attorney in being able to get your charges dropped or to lessen your sentence

These are only a few of the many questions you could ask when shopping around for the perfect DUI lawyer. As you can see, there are many factors you need to consider. There really is no quick solution or fix to your legal issues. It is actually extremely crucial you locate the best legal help possible because depending on the judges attitude, you really could get found guilty and sentenced to jail or prison depending on how many repeat or past offenses you have on your personal record.

Do not let this scare or frustrate you, however it should motivate you to take affirmative action and do whatever is necessary to remain a free man. Running away from your problems is obviously not the answer as well. What I mean by this, is that you cannot adopt the mindset that every time you get “popped” or caught in breaking the law with illicit substances or alcohol, you can not just assume the only solution is to find legal help and “get away with it”! You might want to ask yourself what are you getting away with? What behaviors and habits are you starting to develop? When if ever will you finally surrender and realize that if you are not careful, you can actually kill yourself or innocent others at any given time if you are operating a vehicle while intoxicated.

DUI is in fact a punishable offense just in case you were wondering what is the penalty for 3rd DUI? No matter where you live in Utah; It is a mandatory action for all first time DUI/DWI offenders to attend a brief course program called, "Prime for Life" (PRI classes). This is an excellent resource and beginning to a proactive early prevention to making your life protected, safe and full of meaning. In these classes you will learn some basic psycho-educational coping skills to help you better maintain the way you live life in a much healthier manner. Granted this is a good beginner course, most that have gotten to the point in getting picked up for a DUI will require a much more intensive intervention. Depending on just how severe your addiction or alcoholism is, you must first be able to be honest with yourself.

The first trial to overcome is to simply realize that you are in fact an addict or alcoholic and that you in fact need help and that you can not do this on your own. This first step is really one of the hardest things you will have to embrace in order to find lasting peace and healing. If you can not do this, you might as well save up every penny you have because you are going to need to afford good legal representation on a continual basis. Eventually you will run out of money and resources and have to start spending time behind bars. That is, if you do not hurt yourself through overdose and/or death before then. However, you may sink to such a low despair in your life and not really care any more if you live or die.

This is not meant to be pure doom and gloom. There is hope and a life without drugs or alcohol is possible. A lawyer can help you get back on the right track, but more likely the judge is going to sentence you to a licensed substance abuse treatment center to help you with your drinking problem. You will first be ordered to receive a drug and alcohol assessment to see which level of care is best for your personal needs and to treat your addiction. Then you will have to fulfill the level of treatment recommended and successfully complete the program in its entirety as part of your sentence.

If you think about it; in the long run this is a much better alternative than having to go to jail or prison which will most likely result in you having to attend treatment while in there anyways. Take this opportunity as a chance to change your life for the better and to therefore never have to deal with the legal system ever again if you do not want to.

Were you recently caught drunk driving or charged with an impaired driving ticket? The main difference between these two is if you were either operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol or an illicit substance.  There are many drunk driving statistics that show that the majority of DUI or DWI related charges in Utah are lethal and result in long term maintenance of the legal system such as jail, probation and mandatory substance abuse treatment classes. Drinking and driving is a huge mistake but happens all the time on the streets of Salt Lake City and abroad. That is why Utah has stationed many different DUI checkpoints through their streets to help keep the innocent lives of others safe and sound.

Just because you made a huge mistake of getting behind the wheel intoxicated, does not mean you have to throw your life away due to a permanent DUI charge sticking on your record. If you did indeed get pulled over for such a charge, you might be scared and have a few questions in your mind. One, “what is the penalty for 3rd DUI?” The answer is not as simple as a yes or no. The severity of the charge as well as the amount of DUI occurrences all play a factor into the final sentencing.

The best way to know what all of your options are as well as what is the best route to take is to personally speak with an attorney. Not just any lawyer, but a DUI attorney that specializes in cases just like yours. A criminal defense attorney will suffice as well, however a DUI lawyer will have more specialized experience with similar cases to that of yours. They will also know more of the circuit judges that primarily deal with DUI’s as well.

Utah Law aid specializes in DUI related charges. We have a long history of success rates. We pride ourselves on having the best DUI lawyers within the entire Salt Lake City and abroad. Granted there are other DUI attorney options available to you that you could hire. We just feel that our firm is the most compassionate and understanding as well as cost affordable. We are willing to help you as much as you are willing to help yourself! Schedule a free consultation today and see how Utah Law Aid can help your personal legal needs.

Hopefully after regarding all of this, there is no more confusion regarding, "what is the penalty for 3rd DUI?"

Click the button or fill out the form below to speak with one of our professional DUI Attorneys or contact us today!


"CLICK" To Call Our DUI Attorney